The 2012 Texas Tin Butt 12 Hour Race

The Texas Tin Butt 12 Hour Race

The Texas Tin Butt 12 Hour Race had 5 course records set; again despite the rain for most all of the 12 hour race and at times Cats and Dogs Pouring rain.

Ron sets 12 Hour course record

Ron sets 12 Hour course record

Ron Swift not only set a new Recumbent Course Record of 212 miles but also beat the old upright course record set by Kurt Searvogel last year; it’s an impressive effort when the recumbent record is faster than the upright on this hilly course. Congrats Ron.

Richard Wharton won the Tin Butt solo male with 212 miles just about 6 minutes off the course record pace. Doug LaHaye earned 2nd, Cole LeBlanc 3rd and Jim Winter 4th. Only about 40 minutes separated 2nd and 5th place, that’s just good racing.

Danielle Grabol set a new Tin Butt female course record with 211 miles, long time TTTT Supporter Rani Freeman earned 2nd, new to the 12 hour Ultra scene Lisa Vega earned 3rd and Michelle Beckley earned 4th along with earning The TUC 12 hour.

Tandem Team Rick and Denise Neptune, with the professional crewing help of their four young charming children, not only set a course record while winning the 2012 Tin Butt Tandem division, but also took home The TUC 6 hour Mixed Tandem trophy.

The 2 person female team “Coriovelo Angels” set a course record. Team Tex-Mex, a two person Mixed Team, set a course record and won The TUC 12 hour Two Person Mixed Team Trophy, in this their 4th TTTT.

One really fun race to watch was the three bent females in The Tin Butt Recumbent Race. Sara Kay Carrell, Vickie Tyer and Michelle Williams are all good friends and all great riders. Sara Kay pulled ahead of Vickie on the last lap to take the win. So proud to have fun gals like this out to race TTTT every year. Vickie won The TUC Open Division Female Trophy.

Comments Off on The 2012 Texas Tin Butt 12 Hour Race