2016 24-Hour Iron Butt Event

24-Hour Iron Butt Event

slide2Friday afternoon at 5pm, 23 racers lined up to ride as far as they could for 24 hours.  And boy did they ride!  With a total of all solo riders and teams, 34 riders rode over 6800 miles in 24 hours.  At the top of the heap, Sarah Cooper from Iowa set a Course Record with a whopping 424 miles.  Coming in 2nd Place in the Solo Female Upright category was Sarah’s fellow Houndstooth Endurance Racing teammate, Mary Hall who made an excellent showing with 338.59 miles adding to her Texas Ultra Cup miles earning her Overall Solo Female TUC 24-Hour Champ as well.  Followed closely by Amy Russell who rode 318 miles and also earned her Texas Ultra Cup Overall Open Class Champ award.  Other participants included Irene Rial, all the way from Puerto Rico, and Janice Cahalane from Austin.


The Solo Male Upright Category was topped by Fabio Silvestri from Brazil with 397.5 miles.  Second and third place were achieved by Kirk Gentle from Houston and Rich Nicholson, Texas Ultra Cup participant from Hutto, Texas with 344.50 and 318 miles respectively.  Also with 318 miles is 4th Place Solo Male winner Harrison McClain from San Antonio.  Completing the Solo Male Category were Charles Brodsky, Barry Benson, Mark McGraw, Scott Anderson, Dan Rocco, David Shortes, George McConnell and Thomas Dunn.  Solo Male Recumbent First Place was Alan Johnson, who was riding in his 4th Texas Ultra Cup event.

slide3Many team entries participated in the 24-Hour event this year.  Quintin Boehmisch, Stephen Hazelton, Michael Talifero and Nathan Valdez of “Chain Reaction Racing” rode to a course record 448 miles and 1st Place 4-Person Male Upright Team.  “R40” team members Andy Coulbeck and Terry Sigle completed 344.50 miles earning them a 1st Place 2-Person Male Team award.  Texas Ultra Cup partners Lisa Anderson and Larry Eads with “One Hour Racing” finished with 1st Place 2-Person Mixed Team trophies.    “RRT4G” team made up of Cheryl Barrow, Glenn Barrow, Tim Barrow and David Rocco completing 388.51 miles earning the 1st Place 4-Person Mixed award. “Chain Reaction Mixed” teammates Tom Bick, Lisa Bick, Sharon Stevens and Russ Trobaugh finished with a 2nd Place 4-Person Mixed Team win adding 371 miles to the Texas Ultra Cup Overall 24-Hour 4-Person Team award.


Comments Off on 2016 24-Hour Iron Butt Event